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July-Sept. 2010 

Sports Wagering 

Amusement Game Wager Limits 

Funland Family Entertainment Center, a licensed amusement center, submitted a 

petition for rule change requesting amusement centers no longer have wager or prize 

limits. Funland’s petition was filed for discussion at the September 2010 Commission 

meeting. Amusement centers are permanent locations whose primary source of income 

is from the operation of ten or more amusement devices (RCW 9.46.0331). 

 

Dave and Busters, a restaurant/entertainment business, submitted a petition for rule 

change requesting that wager limits for amusement games be increased from $0.50 to $5 

and prize limits increased from $250 to $500. Their petition will be up for filing at the 

October 15, 2010, Commission meeting. 

 

Amusement games operated at permanent 

locations, where minors have access, have 

wager limits of $0.50 and prize limits of $250 

(WAC 230-13-135). These locations include: 

1) Regional shopping centers;  

2) Movie theaters;  

3) Bowling alleys;  

4) Miniature golf course facilities;  

5) Skating facilities;  

(Continued on page 6) 

As football season begins, it’s a good time to go over what types of sports wagering are 

legal in Washington. The Washington State Constitution prohibits all gambling 

activities unless the activity is specifically authorized in state law. In 1973, when the 

Gambling Act was first passed, only two sports wagering activities were authorized: 

1) Sports pool boards; and  

2) Wagering between individuals.  

We believe sports pool boards were popular at the time and that’s why they were 

specifically authorized in the law.  

 

We often get questions about bracket pools, especially during the NCAA basketball 

tournament. We believe the NCAA basketball “Final Four” tournament and the bracket 

pools often associated with the tournament increased in popularity after 1973.   

 

However, bracket pools have never been authorized. Bracket pools, office sports pools, 

and fantasy sports have never been authorized in Washington State and are illegal.  

(Continued on page 3) 
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Poker Runs 

By: Field Operations Division, Southwest Region  

 

Are you a nonprofit organization thinking of sponsoring a poker run, or a 

business owner who would like your location to be a stopping point/drawing 

station in a poker run?  If so, you need to know the rules and licensing 

requirements for poker runs.   

 

A poker run is an alternative drawing format for a raffle (WAC 230-11-055). 

Instead of placing tickets in a hat and drawing a raffle winner, winners are 

determined by the hand of cards participants have at the end of the poker run.  

 

Only qualified charitable/nonprofit 

organizations can offer raffles, which means 

only charitable/nonprofit organizations can 

offer poker runs. The definition and 

qualifications for a bona fide charitable/

nonprofit organization are outlined in RCW 

9.46.0209.  

 

Organizations operating a poker run as an 

alternative drawing format for a raffle must 

have a gambling license.  

 

Poker runs are operated as follows:  

1. The licensee sells participants consecutively numbered tickets or poker 

tally sheets. 

2. Participants travel a predetermined course with predetermined drawing 

stations (typically five drawing stations). 

3. At each drawing station, participants draw one playing card for each 

ticket purchased.  Station attendants must verify the card drawn and 

record the card value on the poker ticket tally sheet. 

4. After all participants have completed the course, the participant with the 

best recorded poker hand wins. 

 

During the past few months, we have received multiple complaints about 

organizations operating poker runs incorrectly and/or without a gambling 

license. Some of these poker runs have used businesses that hold a gambling 

license (such as a pull-tab license) as stopping points/drawing stations.   

 

Every gambling licensee has the responsibility to ensure illegal gambling 

activities are not taking place at their business. Before allowing your business 

to be a stopping point/drawing station for a poker run, make sure the 

charitable/nonprofit organization operating the poker run has a gambling 

license and they are operating the poker run correctly.   

 

For more information or to see if your organization qualifies to offer a poker 

run (raffle), visit our website and select Gambling Activities, then select 

Raffles. For questions about getting a license, call (360) 486-3440, press 2, 

and press 2 again for our Organizations Unit. For questions about how to 

operate a poker run, please contact your local gambling agent.     
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Sports Wagering Continued  

 SPORTS POOL BOARDS 

 

Sports pool boards are authorized under Washington State 

law and strict rules must be followed when offering them 

(RCW 9.46.0335). Both businesses and individuals may 

offer sports pool boards; however, they must follow these 

specific requirements.  

 

Each business or individual may offer only one board 

on any single athletic event.   

The board must be divided into 100 squares. 

You must charge no more than one dollar per square. 

Each player must be charged the same entry fee (up to 

one dollar per square). 

Each player picks a square and their name is written in 

the square. 

Numbers representing game scores are randomly 

assigned to each square.  

  

It is illegal to have a sports pool board where you: 

Have more than one board per athletic event;  

Offer anything other than 100 squares; or 

Charge more than one dollar per square. 

 

You should develop and post house rules regarding how 

the sports pool board will be operated. For example, a 

deadline for collecting prize money, winner identification, 

requirements for someone other than a winner collecting a  

prize, what will happen if there is a tie, and how money 

will be distributed if a winning square is not sold.  

 

The sports pool board must be available for inspection by 

anyone purchasing a square, Gambling Commission 

agents, and other law enforcement representatives. These 

limitations apply to all sporting events equally (Super 

Bowl, Final Four, etc.).  

 

 

 

 

 

WAGERING BETWEEN INDIVIDUALS 

 

The “player exception” law allows friendly betting 

between two individuals when specific conditions are met 

(RCW 9.46.0265):  

Only individuals may be involved in the activity;  

Businesses cannot be involved in the activity; 

Persons acting together or as partners cannot be 

involved in the activity. Based on a court case, if two 

individuals team up and form a “partnership” they no 

longer fall under “player exception;” 

No one may receive any profit from the activity other 

than their gambling winnings; and  

All players must participate on equal terms. 

 

For more information, visit www.DontBetOnSports.com.  

For questions, please call our field office closest to you.  

Contact information is on the back page. 

 

 

(Continued from page 1) 
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Texas Hold’em Pilot Program Gambling Rules and Laws Available Online 

Visit our  

website at 

www.wsgc.wa.gov 

 

Washington State Gambling Commission 

2010 Commission Meeting Schedule 
 

 

 

October 14 & 15  
Red Lion Hotel at the Park  

303 W. North River Drive 

Spokane, WA 99201 

(509) 326-8000 

 

 

November 18 & 19  
Lacey Community Center  

6729 Pacific Avenue SE 

Lacey, WA 98503 

(360) 491-0857 

 

 

December - No Meeting 
 

Gambling rules and laws are available online.   

Visit our website at www.wsgc.wa.gov: 

Select Rules and Laws 

Select Gambling Rules or Gambling Laws on the top 

grey toolbar 

  

To access rules and laws without going to our website, visit: 

 Rules:  http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230 

 Laws:  http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.46 

At their September 2010 meeting, the Commission 

approved an 18 month pilot program to authorize $100 

wager limits for Texas Hold’em at house-banked and 

Class F card rooms.  

 

We will be sending a letter to all house-banked and 

Class F card rooms outlining the pilot program.  

 

Card rooms may participate in the pilot program only 

after requesting and receiving approval from us.   

 

Card rooms in the pilot program must collect and 

submit the following information to us each month: 

Dates, times, and number of tables operating under 

the pilot program. 

Number of players at pilot program tables every 

hour the games are operated. 

Wager limits offered at pilot program games. 

Daily food and beverage sales. 

Number of customers requesting to be self-barred. 

Number of suspected cheating cases on pilot 

program poker tables. 

 

A final report will be presented by staff at the May 

2012 Commission meeting. The Commission will 

evaluate the data collected in the report and use it to 

determine whether the wager increase should be made 

permanent. 

 

Licensees in the pilot program may continue to operate 

at $100 wager limits until the Commission finally 

approves or disapproves the wager limit or until 

December 31, 2012, whichever comes first.   

. 



 

Page 5 Washington State Gambling Commission ~ Focus on Gambling Newsletter   July– September 2010 

By:  Jessica Quiles, Supervisor, Licensing Operations Division 

 

We understand how important licensing fees are to you. 

Everyone involved in the gambling industry is affected by 

how these fees are handled. In an effort to clarify the 

license class system and the fees involved, we offer this 

guide to license class compliance. The following outlines 

how a business can maintain a proper license class, 

upgrade when necessary, and how to get a partial refund of 

license fees when your gross gambling receipts do not 

reach your class level. 

 

Businesses - Exceeding your License Class 

Businesses must operate within their gambling license 

class. You are responsible for monitoring your level of 

gross gambling receipts. If gross gambling receipts 

calculations show you will probably exceed your license 

class before your license year ends, you must immediately 

upgrade your license. This will ensure you avoid an 

exceeding class penalty which can be up to 50% percent of 

the difference between the two classes or $1,000 dollars, 

whichever is less.  

 

Upgrading your license: You must upgrade your license 

to the class level of your anticipated gross gambling 

receipts. If you properly upgrade your license, you will be 

in compliance. 

 

To upgrade, please complete the License Upgrade form 

located at: 

www.wsgc.wa.gov / Forms / Applications / 

Miscellaneous / License Upgrade; or 

www.wsgc.wa.gov/forms/misc/upgrade.asp 

 

 

The owner, LLC manager, or corporate president must 

sign the form. Send the form along with the license fee 

difference between the old and new license class (fee 

schedules are located next to the License Upgrade form on 

our website) plus a $27 change of class fee to: 

  

Washington State Gambling Commission 

Attn: Licensing Operations Division 

PO Box 42400 

Olympia WA 98504-2400 

 

Reporting gambling activity to us: If you exceeded your 

license class during your previous license year, you need 

to upgrade immediately and should not wait until your 

gambling activity report is due. If you do wait, you may 

have to pay an exceeding class penalty.  

 

Downgrading and renewing: If you have been operating 

at a lower license class, please call us. You may be able to 

downgrade your license class at renewal time. We will do 

what we can to make sure you are not paying more than 

you should.  

 

For assistance, please call (360) 486-3526 or (800) 345-

2529, ext. 3526. 

Helpful Tips: Changing your License Class 

Businesses: If, at the end of your annual license period, 

your gross gambling receipts are lower than your license 

class, you may be eligible for a refund. For example, you 

hold a class B license, but at the end of the year, your 

gross gambling receipts were at a class A level. You may 

be eligible for a refund of the difference in license fees 

between the class A and class B licenses. Send a written 

request for a refund to the address above within one year 

after the end of the license period in which you operated at 

a lower class.  
 

Individuals: Individuals, such as card room employees 

and gambling managers, will not receive any refund if they 

have performed any of the duties they were licensed for.  
 

Applicants: If a license application is denied or 

withdrawn, a portion of the licensing fee may be 

refundable. However, you will only receive a refund if 

there is money left over after our costs to process and 

investigate your application are paid (RCW 9.46.070(5)). 

This applies to both businesses and 

individuals. 

 

If you send in a proper refund request, you’ll 

receive a letter stating the refund amount and 

an estimated date you’ll receive it. 
 

No Refunds: You will not receive a refund if 

you: 

a) Discontinue your gambling activities; 

b) Voluntarily surrender your license; or 

c) Have had your license suspended, revoked, or 

otherwise cancelled.  
 

For assistance, please call (360) 486-3526 or (800) 345-

2529, ext. 3526. 

Helpful Tips: Refunds 
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6) Family sports complexes;  

7) Amusement centers;  

8) Grocery or department stores; 

9) Any business whose primary activity is to provide 

food service for on premises consumption. 

 

Temporary Locations for Amusement Games 

Amusement games operated at other authorized locations 

do not have wager or prize limits (RCW 9.46.0331). These 

are temporary locations such as agricultural fairs, civic 

centers, World's fairs, community-wide civic festivals, and 

commercial expositions. Additionally, taverns and bars 

where minors are not allowed do not have wager or prize 

limits on amusement games. 

 
Past Petitions for Rule Change 

During the past 13 years, the Commission has received 

three petitions for rule change from the public to increase 

wager limits and/or prize limits for all permanent 

amusement game locations listed in WAC 230-13-135.   

1) In 2008, a petition to increase the maximum wager 

from $0.50 to $1 was not approved. 

2) In 2007, a petition to increase the maximum wager 

from $0.50 to $2 was not approved. 

3) In 1997, a petition to increase the maximum wager 

from $0.50 to $1 was not approved. The petitioner 

also requested that prize limits be increased from 

$100 to $500.  The Commission decided to increase 

prize limits to $250. 

 

Public Hearings on Petitions for Rule Change   

Amusement game wager and prize limits will be discussed 

at the October and November 2010 Commission meetings.   

The Commissioners would like to know if you support or 

oppose these requests for a rule change. 

 

Commission meetings are open to the public. See page 4 

for Commission meeting dates and locations. See page 8 

for an overview of the rule review process and how to 

submit your comments in writing, if you are unable to 

attend a Commission meeting. 

(Continued from page 1) 
 

Amusement Games Continued 

Our 2011-2013 Budget 

The Commission’s approved budget for the 2011-2013 

biennium is $32.4 million, which is $1.2 million less  

and 10 fewer Full-Time Employees (FTE) than our 2009-

2011 biennium budget, despite continued growth in 

overall gambling receipts statewide.  

 

Since 2002, we have reduced staffing levels by 42 FTE 

(over 20%). We have used organizational restructure, and 

process and technological improvements to continue to 

meet our mission with fewer resources. 

House-Banked Card Room Trends 

House-banked card rooms were authorized by the 

legislature in 1997. Since that time, we have received 

approximately 262 applications for house-banked card 

rooms and issued 166 licenses.  

 

The graph below represents the number of licensed house-

banked card rooms for the past 12 years. 
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Online Renewals 

On May 28, 2010, we launched a process for card room 

employees (CREs) to renew their gambling licenses 

online. We worked with human resource staff at several 

card rooms to test this new process and appreciate their 

valuable input.  

 

As of September 22, 2010, 515 CREs have used this 

online process. There are more than 6,000 CREs. This 

gives applicants the ability to renew more easily, anytime 

of the day or night.  

 

The status of applications can also be tracked online. 

 

Visit our website at www.wsgc.wa.gov, select Licensing, 

then select Renewal. On this webpage you can renew you 

license and check the status of your renewal application. 
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Recently Adopted Rule Changes 

Petition for Rule Change from the Public 

Progressive Jackpot Seed Money - Card Games 

Effective Date: January 1, 2011 

Administrative Order: #671 

WAC 230-15-695  

Card room operators will be allowed to move seed money 

from one progressive jackpot prize fund to a different 

progressive jackpot prize fund.  This change was 

requested by Great American Casino, Incorporated, who 

submitted a petition for rule change. 

 

Texas Hold’em Wager Increase Pilot Program  
Effective Date: October 15, 2010 

Administrative Order: #672 

WAC 230-15-189 

The Commission approved an 18 month pilot program to 

authorize $100 wager limits for Texas Hold’em at house-

banked and Class F card rooms. 

The proposal was submitted by 

the Texas Hold’em Work Group. 

 

The Work Group was created in 

January 2010 and included 

representatives from the 

Recreational Gaming Association, card rooms, and other 

stakeholders. Commission staff participated as a resource. 

The Commissioners decided to try a work group approach 

after receiving several petitions the past few years to 

increase card game wagering limits across the board.  

 

Petition for Rule Change from the Public 

Income Threshold Increase for  

Punch Board/Pull-Tab Service Businesses  

Effective Date: January 1, 2011 

Administrative Order: #673 

WAC 230-03-020, 230-03-210 

The billing threshold will be increased from $25,000 to 

$30,000 for punch board/pull-tab (PB/PT) service 

businesses. This allows PB/PT service businesses to 

increase their income $5,000 a year without upgrading to a 

gambling service supplier license. This change was 

requested by Casey’s Deadgame Service, who submitted a 

petition for rule change 

 

Staff Proposed Rule Change 

Temporary Licenses  
Effective Date: September 13, 2010 

Administrative Order: #670 

WAC 230-03-080   

This rule was updated to match state law (RCW 9.46.070) 

which allows our agency director to temporarily issue or 

suspend licenses subject to final approval by the 

Commission.   

Up for Discussion in October 2010 

Up for Final Action in November 2010 

Up for Filing in October 2010 

The following two rule proposals will be up for filing at 

the October 15, 2010, Commission meeting.  Please see 

next page for information on how rule changes are made 

and how to submit your comments on proposed rule 

changes. 

 

Staff Proposed Rule Change 

Maintain copy of rules manual on business premises 

WAC 230-06-060 

Staff proposes repealing this rule and no longer requiring 

licensees to maintain a paper gambling rules manual at 

their licensed premises. This requirement has been in 

place since 1974.   

 

With modern technology growing each year, we are 

seeing more licensees with access to the Internet.  We 

believe it’s time to “Go Green” and reduce paper 

printouts of our rules manuals.   

 

We surveyed approximately 200 licensees and found 

about half prefer to access rules online and half prefer a 

paper manual.  We checked with seven other state 

agencies and found they do not print paper rules manuals 

for their customers.   

 

If this rule is repealed, we plan to send post cards to 

licensees letting them know that if they want a paper 

rules manual they need to notify us by a certain date (opt-

in). This way we can ensure enough copies are published 

so licensees that want a paper manual will have one. 

 

Petition for Rule Change from the Public 

Increasing Wager Limits for Amusement Games 

WAC 230-13-135 

Dave and Busters, a restaurant/entertainment business, 

submitted a petition for rule change requesting to 

increase wager limits for amusement games from $0.50 

to $5 and prize limits from $250 to $500. See article on 

the front page for more information. 

Petition for Rule Change from the Public 

Removing Wager Limits at Amusement Center  

WAC 230-13-135 

Funland Family Entertainment Center’s petition for a rule 

change to remove amusement centers from the list of 

amusement game locations restricted to $0.50 wagering 

limits and $250 prize restrictions in was filed for 

discussion at the September 2010 Commission meeting. 

See article on the front page for more information. 
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The Commissioners appreciate knowing if you support or 

oppose a proposed rule change. If you can’t attend a 

public meeting, please send your comments to: 

 

Washington State Gambling Commission 

Attention: Rules Coordinator 

P.O. Box 42400, Olympia, WA  98504 

E-mail: RulesTeam@wsgc.wa.gov 

 

For detailed information about proposed rule changes, 

visit our website at www.wsgc.wa.gov and select Public 

Meetings. Meeting agendas and information are posted 

about ten days before each meeting.  

 

You can sign-up to get an e-mail notification of when 

meeting agendas are posted on our website.  Go to 

www.wsgc.wa.gov, select Public Meetings, select “sign 

up to receive notice of when meeting agendas are posted.” 

How Rule Changes Are Made 

Agency staff review all proposed rule changes before 

they are discussed by the Commissioners.  Staff prepares 

a rule summary, which includes a history of the rule, 

previous changes made to the rule, and resource/

regulatory impacts the change could have.  

 

Below is the typical process proposed rule changes 

follow after staff review a proposal and it moves forward 

for public discussion: 

 

Proposed rule changes are discussed at a study 

session (first month).  

 

The following month, the proposal is “Up for Filing” 

at a Commission meeting (second month). Proposals 

are generally filed for discussion.  

 

The following month (third month), proposals are 

discussed at a second study session.  

 

The following month, the proposal is “Up for Final 

Action” at a Commission meeting (fourth month).  

The Commission will decide whether to adopt the 

proposed rule change or not. Any additional 

comments from staff and the public can be discussed 

at this meeting. If additional time is necessary to 

determine final action, the Commission, staff, or the 

public can request the proposal be held over to the 

next meeting.  

Send Us Your Comments 

Petition for Rule Change Denied  

at the July 2010 Commission Meeting 

Petition for Rule Change from the Public 

Request for Pai Gow’d Denied 

WAC 230-15-040 

Shuffle Master Incorporated’s request that players be 

allowed to wager on the house’s hand in the card game 

“Pai Gow’d” was denied. 

In the last edition of this newsletter, we let you know we 

were gathering information and surveying licensees 

regarding a possible proposal to restructure gambling 

licensing fees. Thank you to those who responded; we 

appreciate your input.  

 

At the July 2010 Commission meeting, we reported our 

findings to the Commissioners and recommended the fee 

restructure not be pursued right now. The Commissioners 

decided not to move forward with a fee restructure at this 

time; however, they may discuss it again at a later time.   

License Fee Restructure Update 

http://www.wsgc.wa.gov
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The Notice of Violation and Settlement (NOVAS) is a way to resolve some gambling rule violations without 

going through the full administrative process. A NOVAS is issued directly by a gambling field agent to a 

licensee at the time of the violation. The written notice documents the violation and states how to correct it. 

Fines range between $200 and $500.   

 

If a licensee does not pay within 15 days, we will take administrative action against their gambling license. 
 

NOVAS Issued During  

April, May, and June 2010 

NOVAS - Notice of Violation and Settlement   

Failure to timely submit Activity Report  

Old Town Pump Union Gap 

Stadium Pizza Parlor Spokane 

Failure to properly delete prizes from the punch 

board/pull-tab flare  

FOE 3004 Okanogan 

Two J’s Saloon Puyallup 

Failure to provide records and reports for  

pull-tab games in play  

Ram’s  Ripple Moses Lake 

Failure to follow Internal Controls 

Cable Bridge Casino Kennewick 

Failure to properly delete prizes from the  

punch board/pull-tab flare  

Cable Bridge Casino Kennewick 

Allowed intoxicated patrons to gamble  

Cable Bridge Casino Kennewick 

Allowed a minor to gamble  

Coyote Bob’s Casino Kennewick 

CARD ROOMS EMPLOYEES 

Allowed a minor to gamble  

Brody K. Barton 
Coyote Bob’s Casino, 

Kennewick 

Emily A. Gareis 
Coyote Bob’s Casino, 

Kennewick 

Evelyn R. Reifsnider Joker’s Casino, Richland 

Thomas S. Hoffman Joker’s Casino, Richland 



 

Page 10 Washington State Gambling Commission ~ Focus on Gambling Newsletter   July– September 2010 

Administrative Case Update 
A Statement of Administrative Charges or Order of Summary Suspension was issued to the following licensees. 

Name Violation Case Outcome 

Samuel Adame, of Auburn, Class III 

Employee (formerly employed by the 

Muckleshoot Tribe). 

 

Criminal History. An Order of Summary Suspension was 

issued.  

Mr. Adame failed to respond to the 

charges. 

The Commissioners issued a Default 

Order revoking his certification. 

Tyson M. Clark, of Kent, Card Room 

Employee (CRE) (formerly employed by 

the Silver Dollar Casino). 

 

Criminal History. 

Failure to disclose Criminal 

History. 

An Order of Summary Suspension was 

issued.  

Mr. Clark’s request to stay the 

immediate suspension of his license was 

denied by the Administrative Law Judge 

(ALJ). 

Mr. Clark did not appear for a prehearing 

conference.  

The ALJ issued a Default Order revoking 

his license. 

Nicholas Molthen, of Tukwila, CRE 

(formerly employed by Hooters of 

Renton and Hooters of South Park). 

 

Criminal History. An Order of Summary Suspension was 

issued.  

Mr. Molthen failed to respond to the 

Summary Suspension. 

The Commissioners issued a Default 

Order revoking his license. 

Carl D. Flores, of Everson, Class III 

Employee (formerly employed by the 

Nooksack Tribe). 

 

Fraud. 

Criminal History. 

An Order of Summary Suspension was 

issued.  

Mr. Flores’ request to stay the 

immediate suspension of his license was 

denied by the ALJ. 

Mr. Flores did not appear for the hearing.  

The ALJ issued a Default Order revoking 

his certification. 

Buntry Rom, of Tacoma, CRE (formerly 

employed by Freddie’s of Fife). 

Outstanding court fines and 

fees. 

The ALJ issued an Initial Order revoking 

her license. 

The Fan Club, Lakewood 

Lake City Tavern, Lakewood 

Both licensees have the same owner. 

Criminal History. 

Failure to pay exceeding 

license class fee. 

An Order of Summary Suspension was 

issued.  

The licensee’s request to stay the 

immediate suspension of its license was 

denied by the ALJ. 

The licensee agreed to surrender the 

licenses for both businesses. 

Pioneer Roadhouse, Arlington Failure to pay exceeding 

license class fee. 

Failure to submit punch 

board/pull-tab activity 

report. 

The licensee failed to respond to the 

charges. 

The Commissioners issued a Default 

Order revoking its license. 
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Name Violation Case Outcome 

Classic Island Casino, Kennewick Failure to pay gambling taxes to 

the City of Kennewick. 

This is also a violation of a 

previous Settlement Order. 

The licensee entered into a payment 

agreement with the City of 

Kennewick. 

The licensee agreed to a fifteen-day 

suspension, with thirteen days 

deferred for one year and two days 

served.  

Additionally, the licensee agreed to 

serve two days of the deferred 

suspension provided in a previous 

Settlement Order.  

The licensee served a total of four 

suspension days.  

BZ’s Sports Bar & Grill, Burien 

Good Time Ernie’s, Burien 

Tall Timbers Bar & Grill, Federal 

Way 

All three licensees have the same 

owner. 

Fraud. 

Made false or misleading entries 

on pull-tab records. 

An Order of Summary Suspension 

was issued.  

The licensee agreed to surrender 

the licenses of all three businesses. 

Horse Heaven Hills, Prosser Received license through mistake 

or inadvertence. 

The licensee agreed to surrender its 

license. 

Administrative Case Update 
A Statement of Administrative Charges or Order of Summary Suspension was issued to the following licensees. 



 

Page 12 Washington State Gambling Commission ~ Focus on Gambling Newsletter   July– September 2010 

Administrative Order # 673 

Effective Date: January 1, 2011  

AMENDATORY SECTION  

WAC 230-03-020 Punch board and pull-tab service 

business permit.   
(1) You must apply for a punch board and pull-tab service 

business permit if you: 

(a) Reconcile sales, prizes, and cash on hand for 

punch board and pull-tab series; or 

(b) Complete records we require; or 

(c) Store punch boards and pull-tab series removed 

from play. 

 

(2) The owners or employees of the punch boards and  

pull-tab service business must not be employees of the 

operator. 

 

(3) The owners or employees of the punch boards and  

pull-tab service business must not provide 

management advice to the operator. 

 

(4) The punch board and pull-tab service business must 

apply for a gambling service supplier license if 

combined gross billings exceed ((twenty-five)) thirty 

thousand dollars during the permit period. 
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AMENDATORY SECTION  

WAC 230-03-080 License approval process.  
(1) The director may issue a temporary license on 

completion of the licensing investigation for licenses 

issued under RCW 9.46.070 (((1) and (2))).  

 

(2) The commissioners take action on applications at a 

public meeting. These actions may include license 

approval, holding an application over to a future 

meeting, or returning an application to staff for 

further investigation. 

Administrative Order # 670  

Effective Date: September 16, 2010  
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Administrative Order # 673       Effective Date: January 1, 2011 

AMENDATORY SECTION  

WAC 230-03-210 Applying for a gambling service 

supplier license.   
(1) You must apply for a gambling service supplier license 

if you perform any of the following gambling-related 

services for compensation: 

(a) Consulting or advisory services regarding 

gambling activities; or 

(b) Gambling management services; or 

(c) Financing for more than one licensee for purchases 

or leases of gambling equipment or financing for 

providing infrastructure or facilities, or equipment 

that supports gambling operations: 

(i) Once you have financed more than one 

licensee, you must be a licensed gambling 

service supplier until all loans with licensees or 

previous licensees are paid. 

(ii) Once you have been a licensed gambling 

service supplier, you must be licensed as a 

gambling service supplier again before 

financing purchases or leases for any licensee; 

or 

(d) Acting as a lending agent, or loan servicer, or 

placement agent; or 

(e) Providing the assembly of components for 

gambling equipment under a contract with a 

licensed manufacturer or entering into an ongoing 

financial arrangement for gambling related 

software with a licensed manufacturer; or  

(f) Installing, integrating, maintaining, or servicing 

digital surveillance systems that allow direct access 

to the operating system; or 

(g) Training individuals to conduct authorized 

gambling activities; or 

(h) Providing any other service or activity where 

influence may be exerted over any gambling 

activity licensed by the commission; or 

(i) Performing the testing and certification of tribal 

lottery systems in meeting requirements specified 

in the tribal-state compact; or 

(j) Providing nonmanagement-related recordkeeping 

or storage services for punch board and pull-tab 

operators, when the combined total gross billings 

from such services exceed thirty thousand dollars 

during any permit period or license year. 

 

(2) You do not need a gambling service supplier license if 

you are: 

(a) A bank, mutual savings bank, or credit union 

regulated by the department of financial 

institutions or any federally regulated commercial 

lending institution; or 

(b) A university or college regulated by the 

Washington state board of community and 

technical colleges and the higher education 

coordinating board that trains individuals to 

conduct authorized gambling activities; or 

(c) An attorney, accountant, or governmental affairs 

consultant whose primary business is providing 

professional services that are unrelated to the 

management or operation of gambling activities; or 

(d) A person who only provides nonmanagement-

related recordkeeping or storage services for punch 

board and pull-tab operators, when the combined 

total gross billings from such services do not 

exceed ((twenty-five)) thirty thousand dollars 

during any ((calendar year)) permit period; or 

(e) A person who provides names, images, artwork or 

associated copyrights, or trademarks, or patent use, 

or other features that do not affect the results or 

outcome of the game, for use in gambling 

equipment; or 

(f) Regulated lending institutions. 
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This page was intentionally left blank. 

 

 

Remove these updated rules from the newsletter  

and put them in your  

Washington State Gambling Commission Rules Manual 
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Administrative Order # 671  

Effective Date: January 1, 2011 

AMENDATORY SECTION  

WAC 230-15-695 Adjusting progressive jackpot 

amounts. House-banked card game licensees must not 

reduce the amount of a progressive jackpot prize accrued 

or displayed except for the following reasons: 

 

(1) To reduce the jackpot and the advertised amount by 

the amount won; or 

 

(2) To correct an amount displayed incorrectly because 

of malfunctioning equipment; or 

 

(3) To correct the display when the amount displayed is 

greater than the predetermined maximum prize limit; 

or 

 

(4) To reduce a reserve or secondary jackpot as long as 

they record the funds removed as gross receipts and 

properly documented that in their records; or 

 

(5) To reduce a reserve or secondary jackpot to recover 

seed money that was not taken from gross receipts, if 

they properly document those funds in their records; 

or 

 

(6) To reduce the jackpot by the dollar amount they paid 

for merchandise they award as prizes. 

 

(7) To reduce a reserve or secondary jackpot to 

immediately seed a different progressive jackpot if 

the licensee properly documents this transfer in their 

records. 
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NEW SECTION 

WAC 230-15-189 House-banked and Class F card 

game licensee pilot program on wagering limits for 

Texas Hold'em poker.   
The commission finds it to be in the public's interest to 

conduct a pilot program to test the regulatory and 

economic impact of increasing wagering limits for the 

game of Texas Hold'em poker to one hundred dollars.  

 

(1) The pilot program will commence October 15, 2010, 

and data collection will continue through March 31, 

2012.  House-banked or Class F card game licensees 

who wish to be included in the pilot program must 

submit a written request to participate to the director 

or his designee. 

 

(2) Staff will provide a mid-program report at the July 

2011 commission meeting, and report final results of 

the pilot program along with their recommendations at 

the May 2012 commission meeting.  Licensees in the 

pilot program may continue to operate at the one 

hundred dollar wager limits until the commission 

finally approves or disapproves that wager limit, or 

until December 31, 2012, whichever comes first. 

 

(3) House-banked or Class F card game licensees must 

notify us of when they plan to conduct higher limit 

games. 

 

(4) House-banked or Class F card game licensees must 

document, retain and provide the following 

information to us monthly, and such further 

information we may request, in the format we 

prescribe during the pilot program: 

(a) Dates, times, and number of tables operating 

under the pilot program; and  

(b) Number of players at pilot program tables every 

hour the games are operated; and  

(c) Wager limits offered at pilot program games; and 

(d) Daily food and beverage sales; and 

(e) The number of customers requesting to be self-

barred; and 

(f) All incidents of suspected cheating occurring at 

tables offering the higher wager limits. 

 

(5) In the event a licensee fails to attempt to comply with 

the requirements of the pilot program, the director 

shall have the authority to remove that licensee from 

participation in the pilot program.  Upon removal from 

the pilot program, the licensee will return to the 

wagering limits authorized in WAC 230-15-135.  

Removal from the pilot program shall not be subject to 

review or appeal. 

Administrative Order # 672    

Effective Date: October 15, 2010 
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Division Extension Division Extension 

Administration 3453 Mandatory Training Schedule 3440 

Administrative Charges/Hearings 3465 Media Questions 3466 or 3463 

Commission Meeting Agenda 3453 Newsletter 3466 

Electronic Gambling Equipment Review 3504 Problem Gambling 3468 

Human Resources (Personnel) 3456 Public Disclosure Requests 3529 

ID Stamps (Business Office) 3489 Record Keeping Forms 3440 

Licensee Activity Reports  3476 Rule Changes 3466 

License Application Requests & Status 3440 Tribal Negotiations 3468 

Licensing Investigations 3559 or  3571 Tribal Regulation / Implementation  3586 

Washington State Gambling Commission 
Mailing Address:  P.O. Box 42400, Olympia, WA  98504-2400 

Location:  4565 7th Avenue SE, Lacey, WA  98503 

www.wsgc.wa.gov 
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Washington State 

 Department of Printing 

For Operational or Regulatory Questions, please call our field office closest to you. 

Bellingham      (360) 676-2012 Spokane              (509) 325-7900 

Everett       (425) 304-6300 Tacoma         (253) 671-6280 

Kennewick      (509) 734-7412 Wenatchee          (509) 663-9660 

Renton              (425) 277-7022 Yakima         (509) 728-2087 

Headquarters – Lacey 

Toll-free In-State only (800) 345-2529       (360) 486-3440      TDD:  (360) 486-3637  

Our Mission: 
Protect the Public By Ensuring that Gambling is Legal and Honest.  
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