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Washington State Gambling Commission  
Raffles - Frequently Asked Questions 
 
 
I. General Raffle Questions 
II. Tickets and Sales Methods 
III. Prizes 
IV. Record Keeping 
V. Out-Of-State Raffles 
VI. Miscellaneous Questions 

 
 
I. General Raffle Questions 
 
1. Who can offer a raffle? 
Only a bona fide charitable or nonprofit organization with a purpose that meets the criteria 
listed in RCW 9.46.0209 is allowed to conduct raffles in Washington State. The organization 
must be organized and operating for at least 12 months before offering a raffle. 
 
2. Can a private citizen or commercial business offer a raffle? 
No, not even if they give the money raised to charity.  
 
3. When do I need a license to hold a raffle? 

a. You must get a license if you are going to exceed these limits: 
 Offer more than two public raffles in a calendar year; 
 Gross revenue from the two unlicensed public raffles will exceed $5,000 in a 

calendar year; 
 Gross revenue from unlicensed member only raffles will exceed $5000 in a calendar 

year. 
 

b. You must get a license if you plan to: 
 Award firearms as a prize; 
 Conduct a joint raffle with another non-profit organization; 
 Give noncash incentives for selling tickets; 
 Sell discounted tickets; 
 Have someone other than a member of your organization sell tickets; 
 Choose winners using an alternative drawing format, such as a poker run. 

 
When you apply for a license, you will need to prove your organization has: 

 Made significant progress towards accomplishing its stated purpose during the 12 
consecutive months before applying for a license; and 

 At least 15 voting members who elect the governing body. 
 
 
 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.46.0209
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4.  My organization does not have 15 board members, but we do have more than 15 
members. Do we still qualify for a license? 
Yes. The requirement is that 15 members of your organization must be eligible to elect 
your governing board. The size of the board is not the issue, but the number of voting 
members is. 
 
5. My organization wants to conduct a raffle but it does not qualify for licensing 
because it does not have 15 members who elect the governing board. Can I conduct 
an unlicensed raffle instead? 
Yes. You may conduct an unlicensed raffle if your charitable or nonprofit organization has 
been organized and operating for at least 12 months prior to the raffle and your by-laws or 
articles of incorporation state you are organized and operating only for purposes identified 
in RCW 9.46.0209.  
 
6.  My organization already conducts weekly unlicensed drawings from among 
members. We would like to conduct a public raffle but are afraid we will exceed the 
$5,000 gross receipts limit for unlicensed raffles. What should we do? 
 You may collect up to $5,000 gross receipts in a calendar year from an unlimited 

number of unlicensed members-only raffles.  
 You are also allowed to collect up to $5,000 from up to two unlicensed public raffles. 
 Therefore, you may collect a total of $10,000 from both types of unlicensed raffles, 

assuming you stay within the limitations of each type of raffle.  
 To ensure you do not exceed the limit, only print $5,000 worth of tickets. 
 
7.  Joint Raffles: Can several organizations join together and conduct a single raffle? 
Who needs to get the license? When don’t we need a license to do this? Can we do this 
as an unlicensed activity?  
WAC 230-11-012 authorizes organizations to join together to conduct a raffle, as long as 
each organization obtains the proper licensing and the appropriate form for a joint event is 
submitted. One organization will be denoted as the “lead” in order to coordinate the raffle, 
and proceeds will be disbursed using a method agreed to by all participants. 
You do not need to get a license if the organizations are considered “auxiliary” units. For 
example, if The Seattle VFW combines with the Tacoma VFW to conduct a joint raffle, a 
joint raffle application must be submitted. However, if the Ladies Auxiliary to the Seattle 
VFW wants to assist the Seattle VFW, no joint raffle application is required. 
Joint raffles are only authorized for licensed raffles, not unlicensed raffles. 
 

II. Tickets and sales methods 
 
8. Can members sell tickets?  Yes, members can sell tickets. 
 
9. Can members purchase tickets? 
 Yes, members can purchase tickets as long as procedures for safeguarding and drawing 

winning tickets are fully disclosed. If the raffle is conducted in an open manner, the 
public should be less likely to feel there was some sort of collusion or fraud involved, if 
a member happens to win a prize. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.46.0209
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-012


Washington State Gambling Commission  Raffle FAQs      Page 3 of 7 

Updated 6/2015 by CLD PIO        

 

 If your organization chooses to limit purchases within your membership, be sure this 
information is disclosed to members so there will be no hard feelings or 
misunderstandings. You may also wish to print this information on your raffle ticket. 

 
10. Can nonmembers sell raffle tickets? 
 Yes, but only if you have a raffle license. 
 Nonmembers can’t be paid for selling tickets and must be supervised by a member.  

“Supervised” means there will be written procedures to document who is responsible 
for safeguarding raffle tickets and revenue. The member-supervisor will be required to 
pick up receipts from raffle ticket sales at least weekly. 

 
11. Can nonmembers purchase tickets?  Yes, at unlicensed and licensed public raffles.  
 
12. Can minors sell raffle tickets? 
Yes, but only if the organization is licensed and the minor is a member according to the by-
laws of the organization and the organization’s primary purpose is the development of 
youth. The organization must have at least three members or advisors who are at least 18 
years of age who supervise the activity and one of the adult members or advisors must be 
designated as the manager of the activity, WAC 230-06-010. 
 
13. Can minors purchase tickets?  No.  
 
14. Can I pay people to sell tickets?  No. 
 
15. Can I give incentives for selling tickets? 
You cannot pay members or volunteers to sell tickets; however, if you have a raffle license, 
you may give noncash incentives to members or nonmembers for selling tickets if: 

 Individual awards are non-cash; 
 Awards are based only on the number of chances sold; 
 The fair market value of the total amount awarded does not exceed 5% of the gross 

receipts for the raffle; and 
 A record of the name, address, and telephone number is maintained for all persons 

receiving incentive awards. 
 
16. Can I give away tickets?  No. 
 
17. Can I sell tickets on the Internet? 
No. Selling tickets on the Internet would violate the federal wire wager act. 
 
18. Can I accept credit cards for payment of raffle tickets?  Yes. 
 
19. Can I sell the tickets at a discounted price, for example, 50 cents each or 3/$1?  
Yes, if you have a raffle license and meet specific requirements (see WAC 230-11-025). The 
WAC includes specific requirements for printing and selling the tickets. Discounted tickets 
must NOT be offered in an unlicensed raffle. 
 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-06-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-025
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20. Can I use a method other than drawing a ticket from a container to determine the 
winner of the prize? 
Yes, if you are licensed and the method used meets certain criteria. See WAC 230-11-050, 
230-11-055 for specific criteria. 
 
21. What are examples of alternative drawing schemes for raffles? 
Typical examples of alternative drawing schemes include duck races, paddle wheel raffles, 
and poker runs. 
 
22. What is the minimum information that must be printed on the ticket? 
Raffle tickets must have the following information: a consecutive number for each ticket, 
cost of each chance, date/time/location of drawing, name of the organization, description 
of prizes, and whether or not the person must be present at the drawing. 
 
23. Can I use theater-style pre-printed tickets instead of printing up some 
specifically for my raffle? 
Yes, but you must have all of the required information (see question above) disclosed on a 
flyer that will be given to each participant. The theater-style tickets must be the type in 
which the participant can record their name, address, and phone number on a detachable 
stub for the drawing. 
 

III. Prizes 
 
24. Can liquor be a raffle prize? 
Yes, but only at members-only raffles (unlicensed or licensed) and you have to get a permit 
from the Liquor Control Board. Otherwise, liquor may not be offered as a prize in any 
gambling activity. 
 
25. Can a firearm be a raffle prize? 
Yes, but you must have a raffle license. If the firearm awarded is restricted from transfer by 
state or federal law, you must award the winner a certificate, redeemable by a licensed 
firearms dealer, for the prize (see related question below). 
 
26. What if the person who wins a firearm is later found to have a criminal history 
which will prohibit him/her from owning a firearm? 
This has turned up in some raffles and can cause some hard feelings on the part of the 
winner. We recommend that you place a disclaimer on the tickets with a statement to the 
effect that “Anyone deemed not eligible to possess a firearm due to failure to pass the 
National Instant Background Check System will be awarded an alternate prize of xxx.” The 
alternate prize must be a value greater than the cost of the raffle ticket, but does not need 
to be equal to the value of the firearm. 
 
27. Is there any limit on the value of a prize I can offer? 
Yes. Any single prize may not exceed $40,000 in value and no group of prizes during a 12-
month period may exceed $300,000. A written request to exceed the prize limit may be 
granted to an organization if there is good cause shown to the Commission. (WAC 230-11-
065, 230-11-067) 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-055
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-065
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-065
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-067
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28. When do we have to own the prize?   
The organization must own the prize before the drawing date. 
 
29. Can we enter into a contract to purchase the prize instead of purchasing the prize 
directly? 
This could be done if there is an alternative prize offered to the winner. For example, if the 
grand prize is a car or cash, then a contract could be used to secure the car as a prize unless 
the winner decides to take the cash prize instead. 
 
30. Can we offer a cash alternative to a merchandise prize? If so, do we still have to 
purchase the merchandise prize before the drawing? 
Yes. See the answer to the question above. 
 
31. What if we don’t make enough money on the raffle to pay for the prize? Can we 
delay the drawing until we have as much money as we needed to raise for the raffle? 
No. You must plan ahead and be realistic with your sales expectations to ensure your 
organization does not have a loss. 
 
32. How do we choose the person to draw the winning ticket? 
It is wise to choose an independent person who has no interest in the raffle outcome. 
 
33. What if no one claims the prize? 
The law has a term called “due diligence.” This is the standard you should follow to show 
you made an honest effort to locate the winner. The greater the prize, the more due 
diligence you should be able to show. We suggest that you send a certified or return receipt 
letter to the address on the winning ticket. The letter should state that the winner must 
respond within a specific and reasonable time period in order to claim the prize. Placing an 
ad in the newspaper is another way to document your efforts to contact the winner. 
 
34. What if the person says they don’t want the prize? 
You should issue a receipt to the winner to indicate they have made a charitable donation 
to the organization. 
 
35. What if the winning ticket is not legible and we cannot determine the winner’s 
identity? 
It would be a good idea to state on the tickets that the participant must clearly print their 
name, address, and phone number to ensure they can be contacted if they are the winner. 
Also, ticket sellers should be properly trained to catch this problem at the point of sale to 
avoid this situation entirely. 
 

IV. Record Keeping 
 
36. What records must I keep? 
It depends upon the size of the raffle. 

a. Class A through D licensed raffles and unlicensed raffles require a record of at 
least the following: 



Washington State Gambling Commission  Raffle FAQs      Page 6 of 7 

Updated 6/2015 by CLD PIO        

 

 Gross receipts;  
 Documentation of expenses;  
 Cost of prizes paid out;  and 
 Documentation of how the proceeds were used. 

b. Class E and above require detailed records in standard forms supplied by the 
Gambling Commission.  

Contact any field office or the headquarters in Lacey for copies of the forms. 
 
37. How long do I have to keep raffle records? 

 3 years for licensed raffles; and  
 1 year for unlicensed raffles. 

 
38. Where do I have to display the license?   
At the location where the drawing will take place. 
 

V. Out-Of-State Raffles 
 
39. Can Washington state citizens participate in out-of-state raffles? 
Yes. They can purchase tickets for raffles that are held out-of-state. Refer any questions or 
concerns regarding out-of-state raffles to the regulatory agency within the jurisdiction 
where the raffle drawing will be held. 
 
40. Does a charitable or nonprofit organization (C/NP) need a Washington raffle 
license when the raffle will be held out-of-state? 
The answer depends on how tickets will be sold in Washington. The C/NP will require a 
raffle license if they: 

 Plan on selling tickets at events held in Washington; and 
 The organization does not meet the requirements to operate an unlicensed raffle, 

RCW 9.46.0315 and 9.46.0321. 
If the C/NP plans on selling the tickets at events held in Washington and meets all of the 
qualifications for an unlicensed raffle as set out in RCW 9.46.0315 and 9.46.0321, then a 
raffle license is not required. 
 
If the C/NP is not actually selling tickets at events within the state and the only way citizens 
know about the raffle is through their association or membership in the organization, then 
no raffle license is needed. For example, a national organization holding a raffle in 
California with no tickets sales at events in Washington would not need a license. 
 
41.  Does a C/NP raffle licensee have to hold the actual drawing in Washington? 
There is no RCW or WAC requirement for the drawing to be held in the state. WAC’s 230-
11-095, 230-11-100, and 230-11-102 outline raffle records to be maintained by the 
licensee in Washington even when the drawing is held outside of the state. WAC 230-11-
015 outlines requirements for unlicensed raffles, which allow for us to approve an 
organization to keep their records out of the state. 
 
 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.46.0315
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.46.0321
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.46.0315
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.46.0321
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-095
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-095
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-102
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-105
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-11-105
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VI. Miscellaneous Questions 
 
42. Can my organization have a raffle and use the proceeds to benefit a local child 
who needs medical care or another similar good deed in the community? 
Probably, but you need to be sure you have obtained specific approval from the Gambling 
Commission (WAC 230-07-010). The Commission will need to confirm that using the 
proceeds is in compliance with your organization's stated goals and purposes as set forth in 
your by-laws. Also, the Commission will require you to give the money directly to the 
purpose for which you intend it, not to the individual. In the example cited, the money 
would be given to the hospital, to a medical supply company for a wheelchair. 
 
43. How long is a raffle license valid?  
A raffle license is valid for one year, from the date it was issued.   
 
44. What if I exceed my raffle license class? 
Your raffle license class is based on the combined gross receipts during the license year. If 
you find you may exceed your license class, you should apply for an upgrade to the proper 
license class, pay the difference in licensing fee, and the upgrade fee. You must do this 
BEFORE you exceed the gross receipts listed on your license. 
 
45. Do I have to pay gambling taxes to the local jurisdiction for my raffle? 
It depends on where you live. Contact your county or city to find out if there is a tax on 
raffles in your area. RCW 9.46.110 allows cities, counties or towns to tax raffles at a 
maximum rate of 5% of net receipts; the first $10,000 cannot be taxed. 
 
46. What is a 50/50 Raffle? 
In a 50/50 raffle, 50% of the proceeds from ticket sales are awarded to one winner with the 
remaining 50% going to the charitable/ nonprofit organization operating the raffle. 50/50 
raffles can be offered by both licensed and unlicensed organizations. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=230-07-010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.46.110

