STATE OF WASHINGTON

GAMBLING COMMISSION

In the Matter of the Suspension or )
Revocation of the Licenses to Conduct ) No. CR 2013-01630
Gambling Activities of: )

) SECOND AMENDED
Tin Hat, ) NOTICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE
Kennewick, Washington, ) CHARGES AND OPPORTUNITY

) FOR ADJUDICATIVE PROCEEDING
Licensee. ) (Amendments in italics and strikeouts)

)

i

The Washington State Gambling Commission issued Tin Hat, organization number 00-21828,
the following licenses:

e Number 65-07259, Authorizing Class “D” Public Card Room activity; and
e Number 05-20798, Authorizing Class “C” Punchboard/Pull-Tab activity.

The licenses expire on March 31, 2014, and were issued subject to the licensee’s compliance
with state gambling laws and regulations. '

I

David Trujillo, Director of the Washington State Gambling Commission, charges the licensee
with the following violations of the Washington State Gambling Act, 9.46 RCW, and WAC Title
230:

SUMMARY:

The licensee fatled-te did not submit its punchboard/pull-tab activity report for the first and
second quarters of 2013, until en-November 22, 2013; whieh it was due by July 30, 2013. This is
the fourth time in the last five reporting periods that the licensee has not timely submitted their
required activity reports. This is also a settlement order violation. The licensee failed to pay the
second half payment for its gambling license, which was due by September 30, 2013, and
operated until December 31, 2013, with an invalid license.

FACTS:

1) On September 15, 2011, Tin Hat was issued a $300 Notice of Violation and Settlement
(NOVAS) ' for late submission of the first and second quarter activity report for 2011.

' NOVAS- Notice of Violation and Settlement identifies the violation and gives the licensee the opportunity to pay
a fine to settle the matter.
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2)

3)

4)

S)

6)

7)

On February 29, 2012, Tin Hat was issued a $300 NOVAS for late submission of the third
and fourth quarter activity report for 2011.

On October 12, 2012, Commission staff issued a statement of charges for late reporting of
Tin Hat’s activity reports for the first and second quarters of 2012. On January 11, 2013, the
license entered into a Settlement Order agreeing to a fifteen-day suspension, with three days
deferred for two years, and twelve days vacated by payment of $1,300.

In the Settlement Order, the licensee agreed to submit all subsequent gambling activity
reports no later than 30 days following the end of the period for which it is made.
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reportsfor2013-which-were-due-onJuly 30-2013- The licensee did not submit its activity
report for the first and second quarters until November 22, 2013, it was due on July 30,
2013.
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Tin Hat has the following history of submitting its activity reports:

QTR | DUE DATE DAYS ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION
DATE RECEIVED | DELINQUENT

2011- | 7/30/2011 | 10/14/2011 76 $300 NOVAS

1&2

2011- | 1/30/2012 | 3/16/2012 46 $300 NOVAS

3&4

2&3

2012- | 7/30/2012 | 9/7/2012 39 15-day suspension, with 3 days

1&2 deferred for one year and 12

vacated by $1,300 for payment of
fines and fees.

2012- | 1/30/2013 | 1/28/2013 In compliance
3&4

2013- | 7/30/2013 | Netreeerved i3
1&2 yet-11/22/2013

On October 15, 2013, a letter was sent to Tin Hat notifying the licensee that the second-

half payment of its annual license fee was due on September 30, 2013, and all gambling activity
must stop. On December 31, 2013, a Commission Special Agent (agent) delivered the same letter
dated October 15, 2013, to the licensee. The owner was not present and the agent gave the letter
to the bartender, to give to the owner.

Tin Hat CR 2013-01630
SECOND AMENDED NOTICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE CHARGES
Page 2 of 5




The agent advised the bartender that the license to operate gambling was expired and had the
bartender remove the pull-tabs, which she did.

VIOLATIONS:

1) RCW 9.46.075 Denying, suspending, or revoking of a license, or permit

Provides that the commission may deny an application, or suspend or revoke any license or
permit issued by it, for any reason or reasons, it deems to be in the public interest. These reasons
shall include, but not be limited to, cases wherein the applicant or licensee, or any person with
any interest therein:

(The following subsection applies.)

(1) Has violated, failed or refused to comply with the provisions, requirements, conditions,
limitations or duties imposed by chapter 9.46 RCW and any amendments thereto, or any rules
adopted by the commission pursuant thereto, or when a violation of any provision of chapter
9.46 RCW, or any commission rule, has occurred upon any premises occupied or operated by
any such person or over which he or she has substantial control.

2) WAC 230-03-085 Denying, suspending, or revoking a license or permit

We may deny, suspend, or revoke any application, license or permit, when the applicant,
licensee, or anyone holding a substantial interest in the applicant's or licensee's business or
organization:

(The following subsections apply.)

(1) Commits any act that constitutes grounds for denying, suspending, or revoking licenses or
permits under RCW 9.46.075.

(3) Has demonstrated willful disregard for complying with ordinances, statutes, administrative
rules, or court orders, whether at the local, state, or federal level.

(7) Fails to provide us with any information required under commission rules within the time
required, or, if the rule establishes no time limit, within thirty days after receiving a written
request from us.

3) WAC 230-14-284 Activity reports for punch board and pull-tab licensees.
Punch boards and pull-tab licensees must submit an activity report to the commission. Licensees

must complete the report in the format we require and must:
(The following subsections apply.)

(1) Cover the periods: (a) January 1 through June 30; and (b) July 1 through December 31; and

(2) Be received at our administrative office or postmarked no later than thirty days following the
end of the reporting period.
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4) WAC 230-05-015 Two-part payment plan for license fees.
(1) If you are renewing an annual license or applying for an additional license, you may pay the
license fee in two payments if:

(a) You elect to participate; and

(b) The license fee is at least eight hundred dollars; and

(c) You pay an administrative processing fee as set out in WAC 230-05-020 or 230-05-030,
plus one-half of the annual license fees at the time of application or renewal.

(2) We issue licenses under the two-part payment plan with an expiration date of not more than
one year and a second-half payment due date.

(a) If we receive your second-half payment on or before the due date, the license will remain
in effect until the expiration date.

(b) If you do not submit the second-half payment on or before the due date, the license
expires and gambling activities must stop. You must pay us the second-half payment regardless if
you stop operating the gambling activity, close your business, surrender your license, or your
license is revoked. If you do not pay the second-half payment, we may take action against other
licenses you hold or refer the debt to collections, or both.

The licensee’s failure to timely submit its activity reports and failure to pay the second half
payment when due demonstrate its willful disregard for complying with WAC 230-14-284 and
WAC 230-05-015. Therefore, grounds exist to suspend or revoke Tin Hat’s licenses under RCW
9.46.075(1), WAC 230-03-085(1), (3) and (7), and WAC 230-05-015.

iy
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II1.

Jurisdiction of this proceeding is based on 9.46 RCW, Gambling, chapter 34.05 RCW, the
Administrative Procedure Act, and WAC Title 230.

The licensee will have the opportunity to have a hearing on the alleged violations.

In order to have a hearing or discuss settlement options, the enclosed REQUEST FOR
HEARING must be COMPLETED AND RETURNED to the Gambling Commission within 23
days from the date of the mailing of this notice.

Based on RCW 34.05.440, failure to return this document will result in the entry of a default
order REVOKING your licenses.

STATE OF WASHINGTON )
) ss.
COUNTY OF THURSTON )

I have read this Second Amended Notice of Administrative Charges and Opportunity for an
Adjudicative Proceeding, know the contents of i, believe it to be true, and have executed this
Notice in my capacity as Director of the Washington State Gambling Commission.

Dated \’/&,UQM N/ "3{, A0/

¥/ ﬁ )

DAVID TRUJIILO, DIRECTOR

STATE OF WASHINGTON )

)
COUNTY OF THURSTON )

I certify I have this day served a copy of the document upon all

parties of record in the proceeding by mailing a copy, property addressed
with postage prepaid, by regular and certified mail to each party to the
proceeding or his or her attorney or authorized agent.

Dated at Olympia, Washington this 3 day of Q:CELJJ.C(G%),{\V ,2014

Jq/L:LW ’r'- /r’.‘./ 7
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